WhatsApp privateness replace: Find out how to depart teams silently and management your on-line standing

0
85


The Meta CEO’s latest transfer to guard customers contains leaving teams with out notifying complete channels, permitting extra management with who can view standing updates, and blocking photographs being screenshotted by recipients.

In an announcement on Fb and Instagram, Zuckerberg, 38, stated the choice was to “preserve constructing new methods to guard your messages and preserve them as non-public and safe as face-to-face conversations”.

With the lengthy historical past of end-to-end encryption threatened by guardian firm Fb’s plagued privateness coverage historical past, the announcement is a step in the other way.

Right here’s what it’s best to learn about WhatsApp’s newest updates:

Depart a WhatApp group silently

In social media circles the place each transfer is hyper-visible, it appears not possible to make understated strikes.

An replace means that you can bypass automated bulletins of departure that attain the (most of 256) members of a bunch chat.

Customers can now depart chats with out alerting each member – solely group directors will get a notification.

Management who sees my standing updates on WhatsApp

Earlier updates have allowed WhatsAppers to privatise their “final seen” standing to restricted contacts, or nobody.

The notification that sits on the prime of every chat tells you when your contact was final energetic and opened the app.

Now, the app will enable the identical choice for “on-line” standing. However one other caveat permits customers to decide on on a contact-by-contact foundation who will have the ability to view their standing.

Block screenshots on WhatsApp

Meta took a web page out of Snapchat’s ebook with their disappearing photographs in 2021.

Not like disappearing messages, which might be erased after a specific time frame by chat directors, despatched photos are deleted as soon as seen.

The identical function will now have an added stage of safety with the choice to dam the recipient from screenshotting the fleeting picture, making the “view as soon as” choice true to its title.


Supply hyperlink