UCU strikes 2022: why faculty and college lecturers are putting and the way lengthy for

0
52


The strike motion was launched this morning (September 26) in a dispute over pay.

The union mentioned employees have been left “with no different choice” as faculty bosses “refuse to lift pay”. Workers shall be picketing outdoors schools every morning of the strikes.

Why are faculty and college lecturers putting?

The union mentioned that since 2009, pay in additional training has fallen behind inflation by 35 per cent and the pay hole between college and faculty lecturers stands at round £9,000.

89.9 per cent of members within the UCU voted in favour of commercial motion.

Previous to the strike motion, employees had been initially provided a one per cent deal, which was rejected, adopted by a revised 2.5 per cent.

UCU basic secretary Jo Grady mentioned: “School employees ship glorious training however, over the past 12 years, their pay has fallen behind inflation by 35 per cent and now hundreds are skipping meals, proscribing power use, and contemplating leaving the sector altogether.

“This strike motion will proceed for 10 days until faculty bosses get up to this disaster, cease eating off the goodwill of their workforce, and make a severe pay supply.”

When are they putting?

The strikes will happen over 4 weeks within the first half-term of the tutorial yr. The total dates of strike motion are:

  • Week 1: Monday, September 26, Tuesday, September 27, and Wednesday, September 28 (three days)
  • Week 2: Thursday, October 6, and Friday, October 7 (two days)
  • Week 3: Monday, October 10, and Tuesday, October 11 (two days)
  • Week 4: Tuesday, October 18, Wednesday, October 19, and Thursday October 20 (three days)

The economic dispute follows a summer time of strikes throughout different sectors, together with rail, submit, and telecoms.

These walkouts are set to proceed alongside the school and college strikes within the coming weeks.


Supply hyperlink