Tuesday, September 27, 2022
HomeUKScottish ministers amongst these barred from Russia in new wave of sanctions

Scottish ministers amongst these barred from Russia in new wave of sanctions


he Russian authorities has barred a variety of Scottish politicians from the nation in response to help given to Ukraine following the invasion.

In an announcement on Monday, the Russian international ministry stated the additions to the nation’s “cease listing” have been because of “continued utility by the UK Authorities of the mechanism of sanctions” towards Russians.

Holyrood Finance Secretary Kate Forbes, Structure Secretary Angus Robertson and Ukraine minister Neil Grey have been all positioned on the listing.

Finance Secretary Kate Forbes was amongst these sanctioned by Russia (Jane Barlow/PA) / PA Wire

SNP MSP Fiona Hyslop was additionally sanctioned however was mistakenly described as “Scottish cupboard secretary for financial, labour and cultural affairs” – Ms Hyslop was financial system, truthful work and tradition secretary till final yr.

On Twitter, Mr Robertson stated: “The Russian international ministry clearly doesn’t like criticism of Moscow’s invasion of Ukraine and dislikes those that assist Ukrainian freedom.”

SNP Westminster chief Ian Blackford, Scottish Inexperienced co-leader – and Scottish Authorities minister – Lorna Slater and her fellow Inexperienced MSP Ross Greer have additionally been positioned on the listing, as has Scottish Liberal Democrat chief Alex Cole-Hamilton.

Mr Cole-Hamilton stated he would put on the ban as a “badge of honour”.

“Sooner or later, after Putin’s military has been defeated and his authorities swept away by the tides of historical past, I hope that I’ll have the possibility to go to and meet with those that have bravely stood up towards the Russian regime,” he stated.

“Till that occurs, I’ll put on this ban as a badge of honour.

“The UK should redouble its efforts to assist Ukraine obtain victory on the battlefield, whereas right here in Scotland, our Authorities should get critical about patching the holes within the refugee scheme and serving to those that have fled to our shores.”

Nicola Sturgeon was equally sanctioned earlier this yr.

Labour chief Sir Keir Starmer, shadow international secretary David Lammy, shadow levelling up secretary Lisa Nandy and former Nato secretary normal George Robertson have been additionally amongst these banned from getting into Russia.

Numerous journalists have been included in Monday’s sanctions, together with Piers Morgan, BBC newsreader Huw Edwards and ITV journalist Robert Peston.

Supply hyperlink

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Recent Comments

English EN Spanish ES French FR Portuguese PT German DE