Friday, September 17, 2021
HomePOLITICS12 Republicans vote towards honoring Capitol police for shielding Congress

12 Republicans vote towards honoring Capitol police for shielding Congress

A dozen Republicans voted towards a decision honoring US Capitol police for his or her efforts to guard members of Congress in the course of the rebel on 6 January.

The Home voted 413-12 on Wednesday to award congressional gold medals, Congress’s “highest expression of nationwide appreciation”, to all members of the Capitol police pressure.

The Republicans who opposed this honor included Marjorie Taylor Greene of Georgia, Matt Gaetz of Florida and Thomas Massie of Kentucky. They and different opposing members stated that they had issues with the textual content of the laws.

Massie informed reporters he disagreed with the phrases “rebel” and “temple” within the laws.

The decision stated: “On January 6, 2021, a mob of insurrectionists pressured its approach into the US Capitol constructing and congressional workplace buildings and engaged in acts of vandalism, looting, and violently attacked Capitol law enforcement officials.”

It additionally named the three officers who responded to the assault and died shortly after – Capitol law enforcement officials Brian Sicknick and Howard Liebengood and Metropolitan police division officer Jeffrey Smith – and stated seven different folks died and greater than 140 legislation enforcement officers had been injured.

“The desecration of the US Capitol, which is the temple of our American democracy, and the violence concentrating on Congress are horrors that may without end stain our nation’s historical past,” the invoice stated.

Louie Gohmert, a congressman from Texas, stated in an announcement that the textual content “doesn’t honor anybody, however fairly seeks to drive a story that isn’t substantiated by recognized details”.

Gohmert individually circulated a competing invoice to honor Capitol police that didn’t point out the 6 January assault, based on a replica obtained by Politico. His textual content additionally named the officers who died after the rebel however didn’t specify the circumstances of their deaths, writing as a substitute that they: “All handed in January 2021.”

The opposite Republicans who voted towards the laws had been Andy Biggs of Arizona, Andy Harris of Maryland, Lance Gooden of Texas, Michael Cloud of Texas, Andrew Clyde of Georgia, Greg Steube of Florida, Bob Good of Virginia and John Rose of Tennessee.

The entire invoice’s opponents, aside from Massie, voted to object to state’s electoral votes within the presidential election within the hours after the rebel.

Supply hyperlink


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Recent Comments

English English German German Portuguese Portuguese Spanish Spanish